Show Summary Details
Page of

(p. 514) 27. Enlargement 

(p. 514) 27. Enlargement
(p. 514) 27. Enlargement

Ian Bache

, Simon Bulmer

, Stephen George

, and Owen Parker

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD POLITICS TROVE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Politics Trove for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 21 February 2020

This chapter examines the European Union’s main enlargement rounds. The European Community (EC)/EU started with six member states, but has grown through successive enlargements. The first enlargement occurred in 1973 when Britain, Denmark, and Ireland were admitted as members. The second (1981) and third (1986) enlargements are often treated as a single ‘Southern enlargement’. The fourth enlargement took place in 1995, which admitted Austria, Finland, and Sweden. The fifth and sixth enlargements, in 2004 and 2007, are known as the ‘Eastern enlargement’. The seventh enlargement saw the admittance of Croatia in 2013. The chapter describes what happened during each round and considers the effect on the EC/EU. It also reviews academic explanations of why the various applications for membership were made, and why they were accepted by the EC/EU. Finally, it looks at the controversial case of Turkey, taking into account the notion of ‘enlargement fatigue’.

Access to the complete content on Politics Trove requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.